Night Circus Ceramics

Not long ago I posted a review for the book Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and I loved that book! Around about the same time, I learned a new ceramics trick involving something we all probably learned in elementary school. Remember how you would take lots of pretty colored crayons and scribble all over a piece of paper, then color over that with black crayon really heavily and scratch off in places to show the colors underneath? Well, this is the same general idea only it’s ceramics and it’s paint. (I paint ceramics at Claymates in Dillsboro) Anyhow, I combined some of the images described in the Night Circus and–voila! We have the images below.

The cup was made as a gift for a friend who also loved the book. The teapot is the ice garden from the book and I have four additional cups on order to complete to make a set with the pot. My plan is that each of the cups will have some image from the book, such as the bonfire, the cards of the fortune teller, etc.

So far, I am really pleased with the out come!

Leave a comment