NaNoWriMo Strikes Again

For the past few years I’ve attempted to participate in NaNoWriMo. That’s National Novel Writing Month. And for the past few years around about this time I get a mental block in writing.

I’m blaming them.

If you are unfamiliar with the project let me say that it is a pretty interesting idea, though I’m not completely convinced that it isn’t conjured by little mischievous imps who want to increase the amount of writer’s block in the world. The goal is to spend the thirty days of November writing a novel of 50,000 words or the first 50,000 words of a novel that will eventually be longer than these 50,000 words.

So, here’s the thing for me. I already write well over 500,000 words a year. Most months I write at least 50,000 words. Each of my sermons is an average of 8,000 to 10,000 and I write one a week. While I don’t use word count to determine the proper length for a sermon, I usually aim for about three pages or so. Plus, I write a homily each week during Advent and Lent and they are 5,000 to 8,000 words, a few additional incidental worship services here and there, funerals and memorial services, weddings, etc. I’ve never officially counted it up, but I’d be surprised if it were under 500,000.

Then there is the occasional essay and book review here and there on this blog and they are around 3,000 to 5,000 words, give or take a bit. Not to mention the tons of emails, facebook messages and actual hand-written correspondance in which I engage for work and personal stuff. Plus, I journal nearly every day.

Point is, I write all the time. But as we approach November, my brain locks down and I can’t think of a thing to write about! I sat in the cafe last night scribbling anything I could come up with trying to find something that I could sustain with words for the month. Where does it all go? Why does it do that?

Why did I make a post just like this around this same time last year?

And yet I will try it anyway. Additionally, I am participating in a writing workshop in November based around a book about writing by Ray Bradbury called

Zen in the Art of Writing

It will be led by a…. well I started to say ‘friend of mine’ but I’ve actually never met him. But we’re friends on facebook, and anything real in the world is on facebook, right? [sarcasm] Anyhow, I”m looking forward to it. It should prove to be interesting and hopefully may counteract the affects of NaNoWriMo. We shall see…..

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Strikes Again

  1. Ok, serious correction needed here. Sermons are more like 2,000. What was I counting? I have no idea–truly, I do not know what happened but I know it happened more than once!
    Anyhow, I still contend that I write around 50,000 words a month already. At least some months anyway. Just not in sermons alone.

Leave a Reply

