Biltmore Gardens

Spent part of the day at the Biltmore House yesterday and by that I mean I went to the gardens. It was really hot! However, I got some pretty good photos from the day.

The uploads to my photoblog, The Mental Scrapbook, are being spaced out over a few days, but I am frustrated that wordpress does not list my photo posts in their tags section. In other words, when I tag a post with ‘photo’ or ‘photography’ or whatever along those lines and then go to the ‘tags’ section from the wordpress front page, none of the posts from that blog ever show up.

However, they do from this blog! So, here are some photos from the day:

This is some of the lovely brick work in front of the conservatory.

I love these flowers! I cannot remember what they are called. They are actually tall stalks with row after row of these little trumpets. Really beautiful.

Sometimes the flowers that have gone to seed are just as pretty as the blooms, although it is in a far different way.

I am repeatedly amazed at the macro ability of this little camera. Far more than I would have guessed. It is times like these, however, that I miss my Elan and the awesome 50mm macro. 😦

This is probably my favorite shot of the day. I love how the grass is going one way and the flower stem is going another. The bloom was actually a very pale, almost white, blue and it translated well to black and white.

Hothouse lilies smell great and are always posing for just one more shot!

The smoothness of the leaves and texture of the wood.

This little purple flower just popped out of the yellow leaves. I don’t think these leaves belong to the same plant, but they look great together.

more photos at Mental Scrapbook

4 thoughts on “Biltmore Gardens

Leave a Reply

