Changes Around the House

I swear they have been multiplying while I was at work. It was just two shelves of books, nice and neat and orderly and one day, when I came home from work, they looked like this…

Ok, maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration. A bit. I mean I know there are a lot of books on this bookcase, but I have several other bookcases in the house which are quite neat and organized. Ok, so there are a few boxes and stacks of books that don’t really have a places on a shelf anywhere…. because there aren’t any more empty shelves… but it’s not like I have a problem or anything.

It’s not like I have a book addiction or anything like that.

Geez! As if!

ha

I could stop any time I wanted.

[awkward moment of silent denial]

Anyhow…lots of rearranging and moving around at the homestead. Gotta Summer roomie coming in. She’s going to be a Summer intern for me at the church, which is awesome! Slave labor…. umm… I mean…. a great opportunity to help someone discern their purpose in life.

We did not have anywhere for her to stay so she’s stuck with me over ten weeks worth of the Summer! I’ve rearranged the guest room, ordered a new mattress for the guest bed and I’m even going to install a window AC unit for that room. Just a few final touches left to go. Actually, it should be a fun Summer.

In all that preparation, I had to unpack about a dozen boxes that had been placed in storage in 2004 when I departed for seminary. Shockingly, a lot of them contained books. At the same time I began all of this, I also started reading a new (new-to-me) book on organizing your work and personal life called Getting Things Done. It’s great! And it has all kinds of great ways to think about organizing your whole life. Like, for example, the reason we get stressed about things and can’t seem to turn off our minds is sometimes because our unconscious mind does not want us to forget something really important and so, for our own good, it keeps poking us over and over saying: don’t forget that thing you have to do! don’t forget that thing you have to do! But, if we have some kind of system in place that will remind us automatically of those important things we have to do, our subconscious brain will relax and stop feeling compelled to remind us constantly. It’s actually kinda cool. So I’ve been doing a lot of sorting through, throwing out, recycling, etc.

Not the books of course. Not getting rid of them. Don’t see a reason, really. I mean, it isn’t like I have too many books or anything…..

Leave a Reply

