Beginning of the Summer Reading Stack

Ok–before I even get started on the ever growing stack of books for the Summer, I have to highlight a book I just got mere hours ago, after I had previously obtained it and had it ruthlessly snatched from my eager paws by someone else. It’s a long story full of action, adventure and intrigue and I shall share it all….some other time. But! There was a happy ending.  For now, here it is!  The Steampunk Bible! It is made of awesome, that’s for certain. (as are my awesome steampunk goggles, hand made of course. If you’re curious about them, go here.) The awesomeness pretty much speaks for itself, but it wouldn’t hurt to expound just a bit.  It is a compendium of Steampunk, from movies to graphic novels, fashion to fiction, gadgets to gizmos and all kinds of steampunked junk.

 

And now for the beginning of the Summer reading stack. So far I have already re-shot this image once so I figured I’d better get it posted before more things come along!  Here’s the stack as it stands right now:

 

Some of these are making a return appearance on the list since I just didn’t get to them last summer.  

 Soulless by Gail Carriger–first in a trilogy. The Parasol Protectorate. Also of a steampunk nature but this time with vampires. One of my favorite books of last Summer’s list was the Cherie Priest book, Boneshaker and it had zombies. So, this year, it’s vampires.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte–read it years ago. Reading it again. There’s supposedly a marvelous movie coming out.

More Like Not Running Away by Paul Shepherd–met the author a few months ago at a pastor-type thingie and he was talking about the art of storytelling as it intersects with the preaching act. He is not a pastor but, instead, a far finer writer. He is the founder of the Lutheran Writers Project.

Full Catastrophe Living by Jon Kabat-Zinn–a recommendation from my journey of renewal coach. Title is funny–it’s from Zorba the Greek. “Am I not a man? And is a man not stupid? I’m a man, so I married. Wife, children, house, everything. The full catastrophe.”

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness–I was talked into this by a girl at the bookstore and it sounds really interesting. Vampires again. I am not super fond of vampires in the post-Anne Rice world; didn’t like Twilight or any of that. It should be interesting, though because the advice I get from the store is usually pretty good! Also, I recognized her name though I am not sure from what. She does have a wine blog, but I don’t think it was from that……hmmmm.

Dreadnought by Cherie Priest–I like Cherie Priest. She writes good adventure stories with strong female characters. It’s not life altering stuff, but considering the material I usually have to read for work, it’s nice to read about women who go out and do things–adventurous things!  I’m looking forward to this one. 

 The Lost Gate by Orson Scott Card–heaven only knows how many books Orson Scott Card has written. His name immediately makes me think of all things Sci-Fi. Got this book several months ago and it floated around my car for a while. Forgot about it. Rediscovered it a few weeks ago and put it on the pile. It should be good. Wish I’d put it in my laundry bag instead of that tedious Galileo’s Dream which I just do not care for and yet cannot seem to just put it away.

Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff–non-fiction book about, of course, Cleopatra. It looks very cool. Author is quite accomplished; she won a Pulitzer for another bio about Saint-Exupery (the man who wrote The Little Prince)

Johannes Cabal: The Necromancer by Jonathan L Howard–this was on last Summer’s list and I just haven’t gotten to it yet.

Belief and Metaphysics edited by Connor Cunningham–the one heavy theology book in the stack. And it is pretty dense, too. It’s a bunch of Radical Orthodoxy people and it is entirely possible that it is over my head. additionally, it’s not the only theology book that will be on the pile–just the only one so far!

My Old True Love by Shiela K Adams–a great storyteller that I have not had the opportunity to read as much as I would like.

Mark of The Lion by Suzanne Arruda–recommended by my mom. She loved it. Adventure/mystery.

Leviathan by Scott Westerfield and illustrations by Kieth Thompson–the cover is gorgeous and there are some amazing drawings including an alternate history map of Europe. Started it already but haven’t finished. 

The Child Thief by Brom–written and illustrated by Brom. A dark version of Peter Pan. Great so far! I thought his drawings looked familiar but I couldn’t place them till I saw the cover of a Michael Moorcock book and then I realized where I’d seen him before.

Kraken by China Mieville–this, too, was on last year’s stack. Can’t believe I haven’t gotten to it yet. But Soon!

Tony Blair: A Journey by Tony Blair–biography of former British Prime Minister, Tony Blair.

4 thoughts on “Beginning of the Summer Reading Stack

  1. Leviathan is wonderful, so is Behemoth (the second book in the trilogy) and I’m eagerly awaiting Goliath which is due out in a couple of months. I had to read Jane Eyre for school and I absolutely hated it, granted I was a freshman in high school and that’s not really a book that’s going to hold the interest of a 14 year old guy very well.

    The only books by Orson Scott Card I’ve read are the first four Ender books, and they were absolutely brilliant, Card is an amazing author and I need to read more of his work, his work is wonderful.

  2. Ok Adam, I’ll confess that I got Leviathan because of the absolutely awesome cover! And because I love steampunk and I believe it falls into that genre. Glad to hear it is actually good!
    Thanks again for stopping by and sharing your thoughts!
    🙂

  3. I just read Jane Eyre and it was really good. I am moving on to Sense and Sensibility and The Hunger Games is on my list as well. If you could suggest any 1 book, what would it be? I’d be happy to put it on my list to read 🙂

  4. Pingback: Books, BOOKS, BOOKS! « Life in a Mountain Town

Leave a Reply

