White Christmas in Sylva….and everywhere else

snow 1It snowed in Sylva…..and everywhere else, it seems, on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and the Day After Christmas.

And it snowed, and it snowed, and it snowed Snowed SNOWED!

Well, I will not be so negative as to say that a white Christmas wasn’t pretty amazing–it was, of course!  However, being snowed in at someone’s house when I really needed to go to Charlotte to see my mom the day after Christmas and having to cancel Sunday’s worship service for the second time this month was not so very cool.

Christmas day: my car slid ever so slowly into a moderate ditch. Even though it is four wheel drive, the thick snow just laughed at my car.

Christmas day night: and accomplice and I managed to free it from the arrogant ditch and it made a controlled slide down the very steep driveway. Then we freed a behemoth of a vehicle that had slid into a far more possessive ditch. Felt quite a sense of success and accomplishment!

Christmas day night part deux: realized that getting out of the driveway the next morning–something that would have to happen if I was going to make it to see my mom–was looking more and more unlikely. The snow kept falling. My friends were kind enough to let me stay the night and give me a warm and delightfully peaceful room in which to sleep.

 

 

 

warm room

Day After Christmas: as if by magic (though actually accomplished by my previous evening’s accomplice) my car made it to the top of the drive and the top of the road. Much towing and struggling occurred while I slept, blissfully unaware. Made it to my mother’s home safe and sound.

Even though much of it was frustrating, seeing it all written down makes me feel grateful and….well…..pretty good. Everything was so very beautiful as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

old truck

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

light in the window

 

All is well. Safely rest. God is nigh.

Leave a Reply

