All Done But The Baking

Well, finally, all the DIY Christmas gifts are complete!  All except the baking part, of course. I didn’t end up doing as much knitted items as I have in the past, but that’s actually ok.  Most of my family and friends have gotten all the knitted stuff they want for a while.

There were a few things that I had to give in and not do myself. In some cases, there just was no do-it-yourself option or even something hand made by someone else. However, I did manage to keep that to a minimum!

Christmas cards, although not “hand” made, were designed by me. The image itself is of a hand-made banner at the church. I modified it in some of the Creative Memories software–the Storybook Creator–and added the swirls and snowflakes around it, adjusted the color in some places and removed it in others. The back image is the same Celtic cross I use on most everything.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the knitting category, we have this cashmere hat in a simple 1×1 rib and a farrow rib knit scarf. Came out quite nice!  Super soft but I think still pretty warm. They’re a bit light weight, but the recipient seemed to like them just fine.hat and scarf

One more apron–this time in black and white! The main body of it is this really pretty tone on tone swirly pattern. The girl at the shop said it was a Halloween fabric, but it sure didn’t look like it to me. Just because it was black maybe? I don’t know.  The ruffle, ties and pocket are another tone on tone, this time white. The image on it is a stylized reindeer. I wasn’t planning to make this a Christmas apron, but it’s just fine if it becomes one when I give it to the person for whom I made it.  This is the same pattern I used for the previous two on the last post. I did, however, make one small modification. The black fabric for this one was very lightweight and it didn’t lay flat across the chest. The other two were also a bit “blouse-y” here but because the fabric was a tad heavier, it didn’t seem to matter. So I made two small tucks right at the ties at the top. This makes it lay flatter and look better while being worn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the last and final bag! This was made from the Frenchy Bag pattern I used for these bags. There’s another tote bag I made that I haven’t photographed yet, but I’ll probably have a Christmas Roundup post with lots of stuff later on and I’ll try to get one then.  It’s pretty, I think. 🙂

Anyhow, this one is for my mom’s neighbor who is so very good to her! Red and white and just fun!  It’s tote bag size.

 

Leave a Reply

