NaNoWriMo—At This Rate You Will Finish On January 16

Late last month I decided I would once again attempt to fully participate in NaNoWriMo. That’s National Novel Writing Month and the goal is to write a 50,000 word novel during the month of November. Last year I thought I would do it. Never wrote the first word.

However, this year has been a bit different. I signed up. I started writing. I did well. I was ahead. Then, it was day five. November 5th. Haven’t written a word sense.

Now, I’m not saying it was a great start by any means but I also won’t say I’m going to quit either! My writing is pretty mediocre actually and I had mostly written character sketches and a few other things and not a great deal of actual novel type stuff. But, I’ve still done 6,536 words!

Why? And that is a reasonable question to ask. Why would I want to do this? And you know what, I just don’t know.  I’ve been sitting here thinking for about twenty minutes on that very thing. Well, honestly, on that very thing and a few other very things, but that one mostly. Truth is that I just don’t know.

I write all the time. A significant portion of my job is writing and reading. I read and respond to dozens of emails and facebook messages a day, I write for three out of four blogs, though not every day (one is just a photo blog and I get a thousand words per post—get it? One picture is worth …..) I write sermons, bible studies, Sunday school lessons, hand written correspondence, formal letters, and even boring old reports. Additionally, I journal pretty much every single day and have for many years. I read a lot, too. A whole lot. Though not nearly as much as I feel I ought. So why on earth would I add to that pile of stuff?

Well, I just did and I guess that’s all there is to it. I’m never going to be a great novelist. I’ll never be on a best seller list. I’ll also never be a nationally known preacher like Billy Graham either, but I get in that pulpit ever week. I’m not going to be Ansel Adams, Alfred Stieglitz or Annie Liebowitz  but I can’t imagine not using my camera all the time. I think that writing is a discipline and that the more I do it the better I am, so doing NaNoWriMo could only help improve the other writing I do all the time.

So, at the moment, I have 6,536 words complete and, according to the ever helpful stats counter on the NaNoWriMo website, at this rate I’ll be done in January. Hmmmmmm. Can I count the words in this post to my total word count or is that cheating??

Leave a Reply

