public writing

http://pervegalit.wordpress.com/2010/10/13/most-things-are-ignored-actually/

This post today, written over at Perverse Egalitarianism, expresses something with which I completely agree. Every bit of digital expression does not require a response to be valid. The author writes, “I don’t know why everything has to be reduced to some sort of utility” and this is what we so often do with so much in our lives. I might add a utility that is visible, recordable and trackable. Without a visible, recordable, trackable result, a thing or act seems to be marked as useless.

Additionally, on a social level, we all seem to need public validation or, at the minimum, acknowledgment, in order to be valid. If someone doesn’t “like” your facebook status or comment on it or re-tweet what you tweeted or repost what you posted or comment on it, then you’re pretty much wasting your time. Second best option, of course, is if someone wants to argue with you about something you say. That’s almost as good as positive validation.

Silly, actually.

I would be lying if I didn’t hope that, from time to time, there was someone somewhere who read one of my four blogs. Of course, I want to share my thoughts, ideas and images or I wouldn’t put them out into the public arena. At the same time, I don’t require a comment or a “like” or a repost in order to feel valid. It is very much like the little items I leave around for people to find–the prayer boxes, post-its and other things. Even if it is not appreciated or treasured as I might hope, the validity of the message of grace, peace, hope and love is no less valid.

The validity of one’s action, statement or being is not based solely upon whether or not someone agrees with you. In truth, very little may be based on that at all.

Leave a Reply

