Pink-ness

It’s so exciting to be one of the featured blogs for Pink Saturday! Thank you so much to Beverly at How Sweet The Sound for the feature and be sure to stop by there for all there is to know about Pink Saturday.

This blog is about all kinds of creative stuff and, most of all, it is about intentionally creating random acts of grace in the world through art and craft. Behind all the creative stuff I do (actually, behind all the creative stuff we all do) is the idea that there is a spirituality to making things. So, be it fine art or simple craft, we give away ourselves just a little when we make something. I have also discovered that just having a blog is giving away something creative every day to everyone who comes for a visit.

TypicallyPassion Flower, for Pink Saturday I post a pink flower of some kind like this amazing Passion Flower I took a picture of several years ago.  It looks like a sea creature of some kind to me. I love flowers and have been photographing them for years.

Here are some other things I’d like to share as well. Pictures of my craft room which has a pink/peach tint to it. The desk is my favorite part of the room. It came from the Grove Park Inn several years ago when they chose to refurbish most of their guest rooms. It’s a distinctly Arts & Crafts style piece. Of course, it’s covered in stuff!

Craft Room 1

This little chair was once brown and had a completely different seat in it. My grandmother refinished it and put this beautiful sunshine on it to match the kitchen in my first house–it was all decorated with suns, moons and stars and done in cobalt blue and yellow.

chair

The house I live in now is a rental home. I love it because it has a monstrous kitchen, living room and master bedroom. This little cozy bedroom was just right for a craft room. It’s clear that it was once a little girl’s room from the adorable wallpaper.

bug

mama snail baby snail

dancing bunnies

bunnies and butterflies

 

 

And, of course, what craft room is complete without a helpful kitty to tear stuff up while you’re not looking and then fake total innocence. Her name is Violet but I usually just call her Kitten. She’s sitting here amongst tubs of yarn. That’s got to be torture for a cat!

violet

Hope you all have a lovely Pink Saturday and thanks for stopping by!!

22 thoughts on “Pink-ness

  1. Happy Pink Saturday Rosemary! That Passion flower is gorgeous! Your little kitty looks so sweet and so at home with your crafts. Have a great weekend, Nan

  2. Now that cat is just one of the cutest furbabies I’ve ever seen. (Please don’t tell my cats, Sam and Brody, okay? I don’t think they read the comments I leave so I’m pretty safe.) Sweet pinks and your studio/craft room looks like a very industrious place.

  3. My goodnes.. that passion flower is gorgeous!! It does look like something from the deep sea! And Violet.. just beautiful!! I think she stoled (is that a word?) the post! Have a wonderful weekend!!!
    -April

  4. So glad I stopped by! What a great pink post and your kitty’s a doll!!!
    I hope you will be able to stop by my blog as I am having a giveaway and would love to have you enter!
    HPS…Lorena

  5. What a happy and loving blog you have! I just love the wallpaper on the craftroom walls! I love to craft, and so often wonder, what will I do with the things I make! Your idea of a Witness Box is PERFECT! Ohhhhh, my mind is in a whirl! I have my new passion! Thank you for sharing!

    Hugs, Patti

  6. Congratulation on being featured on Pink Saturday! I love your wonderful philosophy about creating things!
    I stayed at Grove Park last hear… what a fasinating and beautiful place. You must love having a little piece of it!
    So nice to visit!
    Yvonne

  7. How nice to be featured on Beverly’s Pink Saturday post. I too love to take photos of flowers. Your passion flower is gorgeous. I agree the close up does look a bit alien. Smile! Love your kitty Violet. She is beautiful. I wish I could have a room like yours just to sew. How perfect for crafting.

    Hugs, Jeanne

  8. Hi Rosemary, I love your name, it is my mom’s name, too..So old fashioned yet beautiful!

    Love your craft room, the desk is wonderful, looks like a heavy duty piece..

    Thank you for sharing!
    Barb

  9. Wow what a beautiful Kitty!!! My Sissi would lovbe to play with it ;0)
    She loves cats and she’s a Chihuahua…
    Sorry for the late~ness this PINK Saturday,,, we had went shopping for the rest of the boys school things last minute and my hopes to be back early were dashed…Please forgive me… :0)
    Blessings and Hugs Dena

  10. Happy Pink Saturday, Rosemary. I hope you enjoyed being one of the featured participants.

    I love all of the special pinks you are sharing with us today. How cool to have a desk from Grove Park Inn. It is a very special place.

Leave a Reply

